Return to Home Page
Fraternité mondiale de la schizophrénie et des maladies connexes (WFSAD)
Les maladies Qui sommes-nous? Activités Ressources
Stigmatisation et discrimination Besoin d'aide? Acceuil
English Español

LES MALADIES

Survol

Schizophrénie

Trouble
schizo-affectif

Dépression

Trouble bipolaire

La protection de votre propre santé

Comment faut-il se comporter?

Trouble schizo-affectif

La description du trouble schizo-affectif qui suit est tirée de la section des prospectus éducatifs de Behavioral Family Therapy for Psychiatric Disorders, de Kim T. Mueser et Shirley M. Glynn, publié par New Harbinger Publications, Inc. (www.newharbinger.com). Deuxième édition, 1999 :

Le trouble schizo-affectif est une maladie mentale grave semblable à la schizophrénie. Il peut affecter tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne : le travail, les rapports sociaux et les aptitudes à s’occuper de soi-même (comme l’hygiène et la toilette personnelles). Les patients atteints du trouble schizo-affectif peuvent présenter un large éventail de symptômes  : contacts avec la réalité (hallucinations et délires), humeur (p. ex., dépression marquée), manque de motivation, incapacité de connaître le plaisir et manque de concentration. La nature grave des symptômes de ce trouble oblige les personnes affectées à être hospitalisées à diverses reprises pour recevoir leur traitement. On peut décrire l’expérience du trouble schizo-affectif comme étant semblable « au fait de rêver en état d’éveil »; c’est dire qu’il peut être difficile, pour une telle personne, de faire la distinction entre le réel et l’imaginaire.

La section sur la schizophrénie présente des symptômes tels que les hallucinations, les délires et les perturbations de la pensée, ainsi que les symptômes liés au plaisir et à la concentration. Les symptômes liés à la manie sont présentés dans la section Trouble bipolaire et les symptômes de la dépression, dans la section Dépression.

Ces descriptions vous aideront à comprendre que le médecin peut avoir de la difficulté à diagnostiquer cette maladie à un stade précoce. Toutefois, quand une personne présente des symptômes de manies, de dépression et de psychose, tous à la fois, pendant une certaine période de temps, le diagnostic de trouble schizo-affectif est le plus probable.


L'ASSOCIATION MONDIALE DE LA SCHIZOPHRÉNIE ET DES MALADIES APPARENTÉES
(WORLD FELLOWSHIP FOR SCHIZOPHRENIA AND ALLIED DISORDERS)

19 MacPherson Avenue, Toronto, Ontario, M5R 1W7, Canada
Courriel: info@world-schizophrenia.org


© 1997-2010 World Fellowship for Schizophrenia and Allied Disorders

EspañolFrançais

Schizo-Affective Disorder

The following description of schizoaffective disorder is taken from the educational handouts section of Behavioral Family Therapy for Psychiatric Disorders by Kim T. Mueser and Shirley M. Glynn, published by New Harbinger Publications, Inc. (www.newharbinger.com). Second edition, 1999:

Schizoaffective disorder is a major psychiatric disorder that is similar to schizophrenia. The disorder can affect all aspects of daily living, including work, social relationships, and self-care skills (such as grooming and hygiene). People with schizoaffective disorder can have a wide variety of symptoms, including problems with their contact with reality (hallucinations and delusions), mood (such as marked depression), low motivation, inability to experience pleasure, and poor attention. The serious nature of the symptoms of this disorder sometimes require clients to be hospitalized at times for treatment. The experience of schizoaffective disorder can be described as similar to "dreaming when you are wide awake"; that is, it can be hard for the person with the disorder to distinguish between reality and fantasy."

You may read about symptoms such as hallucinations, delusions and thought disorder, as well as the symptoms which affect enjoyment and attention in the section Schizophrenia. Symptoms of mania may be found under Bipolar Disorder and depressive symptoms under the section Depression.

You will realize from the description of this condition that a diagnosis may be difficult for a physician to make in the early stages. However, when a person experiences mania, depression and psychotic symptoms over a period of time, Schizoaffective disorder is the preferred diagnosis.

With all serious mental illness there is an ever present risk of suicide. Schizophrenia and bipolar disorder have a similar incidence of 1 in 10 people who have these disorders committing suicide. About 4 in 10 attempt suicide.

We direct you to our booklet 2 in the publications section of the site, where some of the risk factors are described.